Extra Menu Links

Carey Mulligan, Keira Knightley, and Rosamund Pike nominated for 'Best Actress' and 'Best Supporting Actresses' by BIFA

P&P/Jane Austen actors and their films lead BIFA nominations!

The nominations and jury members for the thirteenth annual Moët British Independent Film Awards (BIFA) were announced Monday (November 1st). Keira Knightley (Lizzie), Rosamund Pike (Jane), and Carey Mulligan (Kitty), three of the five Bennet girls from the 2005 Pride & Prejudice film are all nominated in the Best Supporting Actresses (Knightley  for Never Let Me Go and Pike for Made In Dagenham) and Best Actress (Mulligan for Never Let Me Go) categories and their new films (Never Let Me Go with 6 and Made In Dagenham with 4 nods) as well as Carey/Keira's NLMG and Rosamund's MID co-star Persuasion 07's Sally Hawkins (Anne Elliot, who also previously co-starred with Carey and Rosamund in the Oscar nominated film, An Education) for Best Actress (Made In Dagenham) and P&P '95's Colin Firth (Mr. Darcy) for Best Actor (The King's Speech).

Congrats to Keira Knightley, Rosamund Pike, and Carey Mulligan on their BIFA nominations!!! Also, congrats to Colin Firth and Sally Hawkins for their nominations as well.

From the BIFA website:
The Film receiving the most nominations is The King’s Speech with eight, including Best Film, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Actor and two Best Supporting Actor nominations. Monsters, Never Let Me Go and The Arbor all received six nominations, Four Lions five and four nods went to Another Year, Made in Dagenham and Brighton Rock.

Nominations for Best Actor go to Jim Broadbent (Another Year), Riz Ahmed (Four Lions), Colin Firth (The King’s Speech), Scoot McNairy (Monsters) and Aidan Gillen (Treacle Junior). Leading ladies battling for the Best Actress are Manjinder Virk (The Arbor), Ruth Sheen (Another Year), Andrea Riseborough (Brighton Rock), Sally Hawkins (Made in Dagenham) and hoping to repeat last year’s success, Carey Mulligan (Never Let Me Go).

The winners will be announced at the much anticipated 13th awards ceremony which will take place on Sunday 5 December at the impressive Old Billingsgate in London and will be hosted for the sixth year by James Nesbitt.

 The following BIFA nominees for this year’s awards:


Sponsored by Moët & Chandon
Four Lions
The King’s Speech
Never Let Me Go

Sponsored by M.A.C
Manjinder Virk – The Arbor
Ruth Sheen – Another Year
Andrea Riseborough – Brighton Rock
Sally Hawkins – Made In Dagenham
Carey Mulligan – Never Let Me Go

Jim Broadbent – Another Year
Riz Ahmed – Four Lions
Colin Firth – The King’s Speech
Scoot McNairy – Monsters
Aidan Gillen – Treacle Junior

Lesley Manville – Another Year
Helena Bonham Carter – The King’s Speech
Rosamund Pike – Made In Dagenham
Keira Knightley – Never Let Me Go
Tamsin Greig – Tamara Drewe

Read full nominees and full announcement here!

Proud patrons of The Moet British Independent Film Awards include Mike Figgis, Tom Hollander, Adrian Lester, Ken Loach, Ewan McGregor, Helen Mirren, Samantha Morton, Bill Nighy, Michael Sheen, Trudie Styler, Tilda Swinton, Meera Syal, David Thewlis, Ray Winstone and Michael Winterbottom.



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Popular posts from this blog

TV News: Marrying Mr. Darcy, a sequel to Unleashing Mr. Darcy to premiere on Hallmark Channel in June!

First Look: Keira Knightley in title role Colette

First Look: Keira Knightley as Sugar Plum Fairy in The Nutcracker and the Four Realms!